02 March 2011

Ireland broke the record of highest chase by defeating England by three wickets at Chinnaswamy Stadium

Ireland produced the biggest upset in this World Cup so far by defeating England by three wickets at Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday.

Chasing 328, Ireland broke the record of highest chase, with five balls to spare, in World Cup previously held by Sri Lanka for their chasing 313 runs against Zimbabwe in 1992.

Meanwhile, Kevin O'Brien (113) scored the fastest World Cup hundred in only 50 deliveries, before being run out, pushing Matthew Haydens 66 ball knock against South Africa during in 2007 in the second place.

John Mooney (33) and Trent Johnston (7) remained not out to guide the Irish to the historical victory.

Alex Cusack (47) would consider himself unfortunate to be run out being three runs short from scoring a fifty in his World Cup debut.

Graeme Swann picked up Niall O'Brien (29), Ed Joyce (32) and Gary Wilson (3) in his three successive overs to derail the Irish innings.

O'Brien was bowled out, Joyce stumped and Wilson was trapped leg before.

Paul Stirling (15) was caught at deep square by Kevin Pietersen off Tim Bresnan.

Skipper William Porterfield (0) was bowled off James Anderson in the very first ball of Irish innings.

Previously England posted a massive total of 327 runs in the scoreboard.

Graeme Swann (9) remained not out for the English

John Mooney picked up four wickets for Ireland. His victims were Jonathan Trott (92), Ian Bell (81), Paul Collingwood (16) and Tim Bresnan (4).

Trott was bowled off Mooney after he surpassed the 1000-ODI runs mark. Trott now holds the record for quickest 1000 ODI-runs (in 21 inninngs) along with his team mate Pietersen and West Indian great Viv Richards.

Bell was caught at mid wicket by Paul Sterling. Collingwood was pouched at mid-on by Kevin O' Brien and Bresnan was caught by Trent Johnston.

Matt Prior (6) and Michael Yardy (3) were bowled of Johnston.

Pietersen (59) was caught by Niall O'Brien shortly after his fourth World Cup fifty off Paul Stirling.

On his 34th birthday skipper Andrew Strauss (34) was gifted broken stumps from Irish youngster George Dockrell
Paul Collingwood (16) was caught at mid-on by Kevin O'Brien off Mooney.

Earlier, England won the toss and elected to bat.


England: Andrew Strauss (capt), Kevin Pietersen, Jonathan Trott, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Matt Prior (wk), Michael Yardy, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, James Anderson

Ireland: William Porterfield (capt), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O'Brien (wk), Alex Cusack, Kevin O'Brien, Gary Wilson, John Mooney, Trent Johnston, George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin
Follow I Love India on Facebook:
Like this Post??? Share it:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to leave your comment about the post, weather u liked it or not, if any thing u wanted to add or any type of suggestion.... just comment...